Yôga Definitions 

Yôga is any strictly practical methodology leading to Samádhi.  Samádhi is a state of hyper conscience and self-knowledge only attainable through Yôga. 

The meaning of  Yôga is union, derived from the Sanskrit root yuj, to unite or yoke.  Philosophically speaking this « yoking » is the union of the individual soul to the universal soul. Yôga as a school of thought, as a school of theological philosophy, it is not aimed at self-denial but rather the eradication of negative emotions and physical-spiritual imbalances. Yôga is balance, it is moderation and the unification of the two opposite forces within the Universe: that off matter and spirit.  The conscious interaction of these two « opposing »  forces enables self-awareness and produces illumination or enlightenment.  Although today there are many different types of Yôga, there is a prescribed order in its’ study and practice.  There are systematic steps to achieve this union, ensuring that progress can be measured.

The first step requires the understanding of the eight limbs Yôga.  These aspects are interlinked, each having numerous facets which lead progressively to the highest stages of awareness and spiritual life.  These eight essential stages in the study and practice of Yôga are:

  1. Yama – Abstentions  
  2. Niyama – Observances  
  3. Asanas – Postures  
  4. Prãnãyãma – Life-force control 
  5. Pratyãhãra – sense-withdrawal  
  6. Dhãranã – Concentration  
  7. Dhyãna – Meditation 
  8. Samãdhi – Contemplation 

Thus Yôga becomes the Path of discovery leading to knowledge; it is the road to change and also the preparation for that change, which with time, gathers momentum.  Profound changes will arise in attitude, beliefs, values and aspirations leading to a re-orientation of life and the Birth of a new level of conscience.  The only way to achieve this unshakable understanding of truth is to discover and therefore one must practise.

According to Sámkhya Yôga philosophy the world is not an illusion; the world is real and eternal.  The world is made for real experiences through which we gain real knowledge of our real being.  When the truth of the temple of our own body is realised the truth of the total universe is known.  Thus truth is not a matter of intellectualisation.  The key ideology is…

He who knows a drop of water knows all water, whenever or wherever it is found.

Goswami Kriyananda 

Swásthya Yôga – is based on the ancient source of :


Systemised by Mestre DeRose the classes are complete and integral also comprising of eight parts:

The Adi Astanga Sadhana

  1. Mudra 
  2. Pujá 
  3. Mantra 
  4. Pránáyáma 
  5. Kriya 
  6. Asana 
  7. Yoganidra 
  8. Dhárana, dhyána 

There are general rules to this practise. It uses enchained sequences without repetition and following the laws of attraction, will appeal to certain persons suited to this form of practise.

Following my inner guidance puts me in sync with the universe.
I become physically healthier and more vital.
Mentally clearer and more relaxed.
emotionally stable and spiritually fulfilled.

Mudrá are the many beautiful shapes that can be formed by the hands, creating specific symbols. They are gestures with a neuroreflexological effect, inducing a certain state of mind important to the practice of Yôga.

Shiva Mudrá – Mythological creator of Yôga – which aides learning.
Pronam Mudrá – The position used in prayer – which induces a sense of calm.
Padma Mudrá – Lotus – symbolises the flowering of consciousness.
Trimuti Mudrá – The Triad – symbolises the three Gunas.
Garuda Mudrá – The eagle – symbolises freedom.

Mudrás can be practised sitting (either cross legged or in a chair), lying down, standing or walking.
Simply relax and concentrate on your hands, as if they were the only part of your body that exists.
Breathe into your hands and observe.. there are many many Mudrá.  With her hands the Indian dancer reveals the Life of the Universe; In Swasthya Yôga I have been shown 108.
There are also many beautiful books on Mudrá, I would recommend Yoga in your Hands by Gertrude Hirsch.